Originally a Citsercian monastery, the buildings seen today were all in existence in the Middle Ages, the monastery the monks knew still stands clothed in the new architectural fashions of the 16th and 17th centuries, built in the 12th century, Edmund Prideaux (Attorney General to Oliver Cromwell) bought the abbey in 1649 and made changes to it in order to transform it into a 'palazzo' in the Italian style, now considered English Baroque and English Gothic, Great Hall with oak panelled roof, Grand Staircase, Saloon, Tapestry Passage, Crewel Room, Upper Refectory, Minstrels Gallery, Prideaux Bedroom, Oak Bedroom, Undercroft, the Chapel, Rock Garden, Bog garden, long border, arboretum, rockeries, woodland, river, parkland, Somerset. From 1649 changes were made to the abbey to transform it into a 'palazzo' in the Italian style, now considered English Baroque and English Gothic. Interiors include a great Hall with oak panelled roof, a grand taircase, Saloon, tapestry passage and minstrels gallery. With the grounds there is a rock Garden, a bog garden, long border, arboretum, rockeries, woodland, river and parkland.
Local train stations, hotels, restaurants and parking.
Tags relating to this listing